Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Webinar: Wood Utilization, Land Use and Global Outlook

June 3 @ 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Register today!

June 3, 2020
Noon PT, 1:00 p.m. MT, 2:00 CT, 3:00 ET

Join the last webinar in this spring’s Forest Climate Working Group Learning Exchange Series!

New wood products like mass timber offer the potential to dramatically reduce the emissions associated with core industrial activity while storing carbon in end-products. Under the right circumstances, forest products demand could incentivize conversion of marginal agricultural lands into tree farms.

Focusing on mass timber as a case study, what is the current state of knowledge of forest products as a climate solution? What are the risks and opportunities of demand-led climate solutions? What tools do decision makers need in order to maximize the potential contribution of forest products to climate mitigation?

Presenter bio: Mark Wishnie is Executive Director and Head of Sustainability at the BTG Pactual Timberland Investment Group. At BTG, Mark is responsible for sustainability across the firm’s c. $3.5 billion global timberland portfolio and leads the firm’s climate-focused investment practice. Mark joined BTG from The Nature Conservancy, where he led the Global Forestry & Wood Products program and a portfolio of initiatives aimed at delivering on the massive climate mitigation potential of forests and the broader forest economy.

Details

Date:
June 3
Time:
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Event Category:
Event Tags: