Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Bird Population Trends and Climate Effects in Southwestern National Parks – webinar

May 14 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Photo of a mountain range with a rainbow

Rainbow over Southwestern National Forest mountain range.

Full event title: Bird Population Trends and Climate Effects on Breeding-Season Densities Across an Elevational Habitat Gradient in Southwestern National Parks

Register

Tuesday, May 14, 2024
11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. PT / 12:00 – 1:00 p.m. MT / 1:00 – 2:00 p.m. CT

This webinar is part of a 2-session series. Full details are in this flyer for download.

Climate change is considered a major driver of recent avian population declines, particularly in the drought-stricken southwestern United States. Predicting how bird populations will respond requires understanding the climatic drivers influencing population density across the region’s diverse habitats. In this webinar from the Forest Stewards Guild, Harrison Jones of The Institute for Bird Populations discusses his research modeling breeding-season densities of 50 bird species in relation to spring and summer drought and the timing of North American monsoon rainfall.

Details

Date:
May 14
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
Event Categories:
, ,
Event Tags:
, ,