Loading Events

Past Events

Events Search and Views Navigation

Event Views Navigation

May 2020

LANDFIRE Remap in the North Central United States (webinar)

May 27 @ 11:00 am - 12:00 pm

Connect to this webinar May 27, 2020. 8:00 a.m. PT, 9:00 MT, 10:00 CT, 11:00 ET Presenters: Randy Swaty, Ecologist, & Jim Smith, Ph.D., TNC LF Program Lead This webinar, presented by TNC-LF's Randy Swaty, ecologist, and Jim Smith, LF program lead, will inform participants about the new LF Remap products, what has changed from previous product offerings, and what remains the same or has been updated. We will offer application examples taken from the North Central GeoArea, and will…

Find out more »

Woodland Owner Lunch and Learn – Managing Your Woodlands with Prescribed Fire

May 28 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm

May 28, 2020. 10:00 a.m. PT, 11:00 a.m. MT, Noon, CT, 1:00 pm ET Sponsored by: North Carolina State Extension Forestry Full event website Approximately 30 minutes before this webinar's start time, the 'Join' button will be activated on the event webpage. Once the 'Join' button is available, you may click the 'Join' button and begin the registration process. Please arrive 30 minutes prior the event start time, as participation is limited to the first 500 people to join. Summary:…

Find out more »

Data, Science, and Methods behind the Wildfire Risk to Communities Website (webinar)

May 28 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Register for this webinar May 28, 2020. 11:00 a.m. PT, Noon MT, 1:00 p.m. CT, 2:00 ET Presenters: Greg Dillon, Frank Fay, Jim Menakis, Kelly Pohl, Joe Scott Learn about the science and data used to calculate and map wildfire risk nationwide in the new Wildfire Risk to Communities website. Hear from the project’s technical lead about the use of LANDFIRE and other input datasets, the methods for modeling and mapping wildfire risk, and the data products available through the…

Find out more »

June 2020

Webinar: Wood Utilization, Land Use and Global Outlook

June 3 @ 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Register today! June 3, 2020 Noon PT, 1:00 p.m. MT, 2:00 CT, 3:00 ET Join the last webinar in this spring's Forest Climate Working Group Learning Exchange Series! New wood products like mass timber offer the potential to dramatically reduce the emissions associated with core industrial activity while storing carbon in end-products. Under the right circumstances, forest products demand could incentivize conversion of marginal agricultural lands into tree farms. Focusing on mass timber as a case study, what is the…

Find out more »

Burning in Hardwoods (webinar)

June 10 @ 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Register today. June 10 from 1:00 - 3:00 p.m. ET This free, two-hour webinar is hosted by the North Carolina Prescribed Fire Council, the Southern Fire Exchange, NC State University, and the University of Florida. Society of American Foresters CFE Credit is expected. There is increasing interest in using prescribed fire to restore and maintain Piedmont ecosystems dominated by hardwood species. This webinar will address several topics relevant to those using prescribed fire in Piedmont hardwood ecosystems, including the history…

Find out more »

Considerations for evaluating effects of wildfire to Northern spotted owls (NSO) and NSO habitat

June 16 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Register today! June 16, 2020 1:00 - 2:00 p.m. ET Full event flyer for download Fire is a natural ecosystem process and forest dependent wildlife evolved with, and are well adapted to fire. Spotted owl responses to fire continue to be the topic of significant research, investigating changes in occupancy, foraging behavior, colonization and site extinction probabilities, and movements. The effects of wildfire on spotted owls can be either positive or negative, depending on the size, severity, and landscape position…

Find out more »

LANDFIRE Remap in the Southeastern United States (webinar)

June 17 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Register for this webinar June 17, 2020. 10:00 a.m. PT, 11:00 MT, Noon CT, 1:00 p.m. ET Presenter: Jim Smith, Ph.D., TNC LF Program Lead LANDFIRE Remap is a multi-year effort to improve the usability of the product suite by recreating base LANDFIRE products using new plot information, new imagery and production techniques. Presenter Jim Smith, TNC LANDFIRE Program Lead, will review LANDFIRE product offerings, describe what has changed, what has not changed from previous versions, and provide information on…

Find out more »

State of Montane Conservation and Management in Maine

June 17 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

To register email Bryan Wentzell: bwentzell “at” mainemountaincollaborative.org.  Or, you can wait as a direct registration link will be coming soon. June 17, 2020 2:00 p.m. ET This webinar is hosted by the Maine Mountain Collaborative as part of a series of webinars leading up to their Symposium in autumn. More details about this webinar are coming soon. Presenters: Dr. David Publicover, Appalachian Mountain Club and Dr. Caitlin McDonough MacKenzie, University of Maine.

Find out more »

Webinar – Regeneration Issues. #7 in the Forest Adaptation Webinar Series

June 25 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Forest Adaptation Webinar Series (#7) Regeneration Issues featuring Kathryn Miller, with the National Park Service, and Chris Zimmerman of The Nature Conservancy. June 25, Noon - 1:00 p.m. ET Register now! NIACS and the Forest Stewards Guild have teamed up to offer a webinar series focused on forests and climate change adaptation. The series brings together scientists and managers to learn about and discuss emerging topics related to the effects of climate change on forest management, with a focus on…

Find out more »

Women’s Chainsaw Safety course

June 27 @ 8:00 am - June 28 @ 4:00 pm
McDougal Orchards LLC, 201 Hanson Ridge Road
Springvale, ME 04083
+ Google Map
$150

Registration is full. Contact Amanda Mahaffey at amanda@forestguild.org regarding potential future offerings. We are monitoring state and CDC guidance and will determine in early June whether it is safe to proceed with this course as planned. In the meantime, join a two-part, free, web-based event on Saturdays April 25 and May 2. View the detailed event page. Also, read this article about safety and comfort tips for women chainsaw users! _____________________________________________ Details for the rescheduled in-person event. June 27 -…

Find out more »
+ Export Events