Loading Events

Events for May 11 - August 21, 2021

Events Search and Views Navigation

Event Views Navigation

May 2020

Wildlife Forestry in Bottomland Hardwoods – webinar

May 19 @ 12:30 pm - 2:00 pm

Register today! May 19, 2020 12:30 - 2:00 p.m. ET Agenda to download This webinar qualifies for 1.0 SAF Category 1 CFE credit. We welcome forest landowners, natural resources professionals, and others to join us for a virtual workshop in wildlife forestry practices in bottomland hardwood forests of the Southeast. We’ll cover topics such as bottomland hardwood management, hydrology and water issues, timber stand improvement, and how to manage your forestland to improve wildlife habitat. Bottomland hardwood forests are critically…

Find out more »

Seeing the Forest: Sustainable Wood Bioenergy in the Southeast US. (webinar)

May 20 @ 11:00 am - 12:30 pm

Our Organizational Sponsor, Enviva invites you to: Save the date (registration coming soon)! Wednesday, May 20 1.5 hours. 8:00 a.m. PT, 9:00 MT, 10:00 CT – 11:00 ET Discuss our recent white paper, Seeing the Forest: Sustainable Wood Bioenergy in the Southeast United States. Presenters include: ·    Jennifer Jenkins, PhD, Vice President and Chief Sustainability Officer, Enviva ·    Roger Ballentine, President, Green Strategies As explored in our white paper, the webinar will examine the sustainability, scientific, and economic principles –…

Find out more »

Ecological Forestry in Mountain Coves of the Appalachian Region – webinar

May 26 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Recording of the webinar is here May 26, 2020 2: 00 -3:00 pm ET This webinar qualifies for .5 SAF Category 1 CFE credit. This webinar precedes a field workshop scheduled for August on the same topic. Register for one or both of these events! Welcome foresters, land managers, natural resource professionals, and private forest landowners to this webinar about management and conservation of mountain cove forests in the Appalachian region. In this webinar, we will learn about ways and…

Find out more »

Southeast region Guild member call

May 27 @ 10:30 am - 12:00 pm

The next Southeast Region Call is not yet scheduled. Until then, notes from the previous 2020 calls are available: February's call notes May's call notes This call is for members of the Forest Stewards Guild in states of the southeast region. If you are interested or engaged in projects in the Southeast and not yet a member, please consider joining today, and registering for this call. We'd love to have you on board! Wednesday, May 27 10:30 - Noon ET…

Find out more »

June 2020

LANDFIRE Remap in the Southeastern United States (webinar)

June 17 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Register for this webinar June 17, 2020. 10:00 a.m. PT, 11:00 MT, Noon CT, 1:00 p.m. ET Presenter: Jim Smith, Ph.D., TNC LF Program Lead LANDFIRE Remap is a multi-year effort to improve the usability of the product suite by recreating base LANDFIRE products using new plot information, new imagery and production techniques. Presenter Jim Smith, TNC LANDFIRE Program Lead, will review LANDFIRE product offerings, describe what has changed, what has not changed from previous versions, and provide information on…

Find out more »

August 2020

Appalachian Cove Virtual Series – Ginseng webinar

August 7 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Three-pronged ginseng. Photo by Jennifer Chandler. This webinar is the first in a series that replaces an original event that was scheduled for August 7, 2020 entitled Mountain Cove Forest Management and Conservation in the Central Appalachians. That original event will not be held due to Covid-19. This webinar was recorded The effect of timber harvest on the growth of American ginseng August 7, 2020 12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. ET This webinar is pre-approved for 1 SAF CFE credit…

Find out more »

August 2021

Celebrating the roots of Guild forestry – Guild birthday event in NC!

August 19, 2021 @ 9:30 am - August 21, 2021 @ 11:00 am
SAHC Community Farm, 24 Mag Sluder Rd
Alexander, NC 28701
+ Google Map

Forest Stewards Guild’s 25th Anniversary National Guild Gathering is rescheduled to August 19 - 22, 2021! Registration is temporarily closed. More details are coming soon. Celebrating the roots of Guild forestry Venue: Southern Appalachian Highlands Conservancy Community Farm Draft agenda  Food: Day 1 all meals included. Day 2 dinner on your own. Day 3 light breakfast included. Snacks available on all days. Field sites: Warren Wilson College Forest and Bent Creek Experimental Forest’s femelschlag silviculture system (don’t know what that…

Find out more »
+ Export Events